» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 ... 78» Next»     » Slide Show

Fraternity Info From JSCU

A website that actually has the fraternity information from JSCU about Thomas Alonzo Jr.

I discovered this website with this text about my grandfather, Thomas A. LaSaine, Jr.

A copy of the page is here for archival purposes.

The Alpha Epsilon Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. is known as the “Mothership Chapter” of the Middle Eastern Province. This chapter has been known throughout history as being among the best in the country. The members of the Alpha Epsilon Chapter take pride in their fraternity and want to see their chapter continue to grow and make huge strides into the next millennium. The members of the Alpha Epsilon Chapter are leaders, and will continue to be leaders of our society. Each one of them possesses a strength or skill that will one day lead to his success.

In 1927, D.P. Young, Polemarch of the Southeastern Province, installed the Alpha Epsilon Chapter as the first chapter of the Middle Eastern Province, at Johnson C. Smith University in Charlotte, NC. On December 10, 1927, the Alpha Epsilon Chapter began with its first six initiates: A.S. Powe, L.L. Blakney, J.A. Blount, J.H. Justice, J.A. Jones, and W.A. Perry. The first Polemarch of the Alpha Epsilon Chapter was J.H. Alston, the dean of the University’s College of Liberal Arts and former member of the Epsilon Chapter.

After the Alpha Epsilon Chapter was established in 1927, it was instrumental in the finding of three other local chapters in the Middle Eastern Province. They assisted in finding the Zeta Delta Chapter at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, the Zeta Sigma Chapter at Barber Scotia College, and the Kappa Sigma Chapter at Western Carolina University.

The Alpha Epsilon Chapter has always been supportive of all functions of Kappa Alpha Psi. In fact, in 1970, the 56th Grand Chapter Meeting was held in Charlotte, NC, in which Charlotte Alumni and Alpha Epsilon hosted. We have been supportive and present at all province meetings and conferences.

Due to the fact that the brothers of the Alpha Epsilon Chapter work very diligently, there have been a number of them to hold national positions. Reverend Dr. Eugene Houston once held the position of National Chaplain. William H. Smith, Elder Watson Diggs Awardee, served as the Keeper of Records and Exchequer for the Eastern Province. Reverend Ray Booton is currently on the national guide right committee and the national Laurel Wreath committee. Outside of the national honors, the brothers of the Alpha Epsilon Chapter have achieved scholastic acknowledgment. Brother A.T. Jones, was the first person to graduate Magna Cum Laude from Johnson C. Smith University. T.A. LaSaine, Edward W. Jones, and Marcus Bouleware were honor students in the 1930 Graduating class. W. Eugene Houston graduated Summa Cum Laude, the only individual in a class of 131students. He was elected to Who’s Who in American Universities and Colleges, a member of Delta Phi Delta Journalistic Society, and Alpha Kappa Sigma Honorary Society.


added by Reginald V. Finley, Sr.

Linked toThomas Alonzo LaSaine, Jr.

» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 ... 78» Next»     » Slide Show